June’s Canadian deal disclosures raise a useful question for owners: what does the headline amount actually represent? Aecon’s C$320 million agreement priced a preferred equity interest in a utilities business. Financeit’s approximately C$201 million represented loan-backed notes. Tintina’s proposed C$91 million financing still had issuance and escrow milestones ahead.
Those distinctions matter when you are comparing an offer for your business, choosing a source of capital or planning around a transaction’s closing. This report follows selected Canadian-connected financings and acquisitions through their terms and dates, with later confirmations clearly identified.
Three takeaways:
Name what the amount buys. A stake price, a financing amount and cash paid at closing answer different questions. Aecon, Financeit and WELL show why the label belongs beside the number.
Follow the financing through its amendments. Arras and 1911 Gold increased their June offerings before closing in July. Tintina’s subscription receipts also moved through later milestones.
Connect the purchase to its funding. PROREIT’s property purchases and DIV’s Mr. Lube acquisition had related financing. Adding that funding to the acquisition price would obscure the transaction.
Reading guide: Capital disclosures; business and ownership acquisitions; purchases and their funding; resource transactions; other June disclosures and wider context; questions to take into your own process.
Capital disclosures: identify the instrument and the milestone
These announcements cover public equity, private rounds and credit backed by a loan pool. Each card keeps the disclosed instrument, currency and event beside the amount.
TransAlta: C$350 million of equity, with an option still available
TransAlta closed approximately C$350 million of bought-deal equity on June 9, issuing 18.23 million shares at C$19.20. The option remained available in that announcement; the reported proceeds were the base amount closed.
The Canadian public issuer said proceeds were intended partly for a separate Colorado acquisition. For an owner evaluating acquisition funding, the useful distinction is between the equity raised and the price of the assets it helps finance. TransAlta’s June 9 closing release; Canadian-dollar offering terms.
Dominion Dynamics: a C$139 million Series A for planned systems development
The Ottawa company announced a C$139 million Series A on June 30, led by Georgian. Dominion said it would develop Arctic surveillance and drone systems.
Those are intended uses of capital. The announcement does not separately establish a cash-closing date, nor does the financing itself establish that the planned systems have been delivered. The owner’s question is what milestones the financing is expected to support. Dominion’s Series A announcement.
Float Financial: C$85 million of all-equity capital
Float Financial announced an all-equity C$85 million Series C on June 24, led by Inovia. The Toronto company described plans for product development and expansion.
For a business comparing funding options, “all-equity” is a useful starting point. It identifies the disclosed capital type; it does not supply the valuation, dilution or investor rights needed to compare the full terms with another proposal. Float’s June 24 Series C release.
Financeit: C$201 million of notes backed by home-improvement loans
Financeit announced on June 24 that it had closed approximately C$201 million of rated notes backed by home-improvement loans. The release does not separately identify the closing day.
This is structured credit tied to a loan pool. Comparing the amount with a Series financing or an acquisition price would require a different set of questions about the instrument and the assets supporting it. It is not an equity valuation of Financeit. Financeit’s term ABS transaction release.
Stathera: a US$55 million Series B disclosed at month-end
On June 30, Montreal-based Stathera announced that it had closed a US$55 million Series B. The exact cash-closing day is not separately stated.
The original US-dollar amount is retained here. Keeping currency visible is particularly useful when comparing funding needs or ownership outcomes across Canadian companies whose rounds are announced in different currencies. Stathera’s Series B closing announcement.
Business acquisitions: separate the stake, the price and the conditions
A price can cover a particular ownership interest, a whole business or a package with deferred consideration. The following transactions illustrate those distinctions without supplying a common valuation multiple.
Aecon Utilities: C$320 million for Oaktree’s preferred equity interest
On June 25, Aecon agreed to buy Oaktree’s as-converted 27.5% preferred equity interest in Aecon Utilities for C$320 million, with closing expected in the fourth quarter.
Aecon’s subsequently published second-quarter MD&A confirms the Canadian-dollar basis and planned cash and credit funding. The amount prices that interest; it is not Aecon Utilities’ total enterprise value. An owner using it as a comparison would first need to understand the security and the rights attached to it. Aecon’s June 25 agreement; Aecon’s July 30 MD&A.
A25: C$280 million for the remaining half of the concession
La Caisse agreed on June 9 to invest C$280 million for Transurban’s remaining 50% interest in the A25 concession in Montreal. It had acquired the first half in 2023.
The June amount is the price of the remaining stake. It should not be read as the value of the entire concession, and the announcement describes an agreement rather than a completed June transfer. La Caisse’s A25 agreement announcement.
PinkWood: a C$68 million agreement followed by a July close
Canfor announced its agreement to acquire Calgary-based PinkWood on June 9 for C$68 million, including working capital.
The distinction between signing and completion is clear here: Canfor’s July 3 release confirmed the subsequent close, also recorded in its July financial statements. The June entry is the agreement; the closing belongs to July. For an owner negotiating a headline price, the working-capital basis is a term to carry through to the completion statement. Canfor’s June agreement; July 3 closing release; second-quarter financial statements.
WELL: two acquisitions with different ownership percentages
WELL closed two acquisitions on June 1: all of OID in Ontario and approximately 65% of UnionMD in Quebec. Its August 6 second-quarter MD&A subsequently confirmed approximately C$115 million paid at closing, with a package of up to C$160 million including earnouts and vendor financing.
The maximum package is different from the amount paid at closing. It also covers two acquisitions with different ownership percentages. A seller comparing these terms would need to separate cash, vendor financing and the conditions for earning additional consideration; the difference between the two headline figures is not described as entirely an earnout. WELL’s acquisition and guidance release. WELL’s August 6 MD&A.
Galaxy Broadband: upfront consideration and a three-year performance component
Calian announced a definitive agreement on June 25 to buy Mississauga-based Galaxy Broadband for C$24 million upfront plus up to C$27.5 million tied to performance over three years. Approvals remained conditions. Calian’s August 13 third-quarter results subsequently confirmed these terms in Canadian dollars.
The maximum is not cash paid at signing. For an owner considering a similar structure, the practical work is in the performance definitions, measurement period and payment terms—not merely the sum of the stated components. Calian’s Galaxy Broadband agreement. Calian’s August 13 results.
Goldrich Printpak: acquisition price and sales disclose different things
SupremeX announced the Goldrich Printpak acquisition on June 5 at approximately $34 million on a cash-free, debt-free basis, subject to adjustments. Its release also reported roughly $30 million of target sales for the last fiscal year. The document does not explicitly identify the dollar currency.
Goldrich is a Toronto target. The disclosed sales provide some business context, but they do not establish normalized earnings or an earnings multiple. Neither an earnings figure nor a multiple is inferred here. SupremeX’s Goldrich acquisition release.
Purchases and their funding: follow the same transaction through
A financing can support a purchase without becoming additional purchase consideration. PROREIT and DIV are useful examples because the purchase, funding and later confirmation can be read together.
PROREIT: June property purchases, confirmed after month-end
PROREIT announced two binding portfolio agreements on June 3 covering 17 industrial properties in Quebec and Winnipeg, with related public and private equity and mortgage funding.
The closing sequence was subsequently clarified. In its August 12 results, PROREIT confirmed that four Manitoba properties closed on June 26 and 13 Quebec properties on June 30, for a combined purchase price of approximately C$136.8 million before closing costs. These are June closes confirmed in later disclosures.
A further four-property Winnipeg purchase for C$21.7 million was separate: it closed on July 15. Keeping that transaction apart also prevents the similarly sized private financing in the June announcement from being mistaken for the price of those additional properties. The owner’s question is how each source of funding maps to each purchase and closing. PROREIT’s June agreements and funding announcement; August 12 results confirming the closing dates.
Mr. Lube + Tires: the acquisition and equity financing belong together
Diversified Royalty Corp. completed its acquisition of the Mr. Lube + Tires franchisor business on June 16, following the May agreement at an initial C$235 million price, subject to adjustments.
DIV’s August 12 second-quarter statements subsequently reported a net preliminary purchase price of C$227.914 million. The reconciliation starts with C$235 million, adds C$1.95 million of Class B shares, and deducts C$8.25 million of closing indebtedness and C$786,000 of working capital. The reconciliation is preliminary and was disclosed after the June close.
DIV also announced equity financing on June 25 to repay acquisition funding and for working capital. Its August statements subsequently confirmed a July 6 close of approximately C$57.5 million, including the full option. The equity financing and acquisition price are connected parts of the package; adding them would count funding alongside the purchase it supports. May acquisition agreement; first-quarter statements confirming the initial Canadian-dollar price; June 25 equity financing announcement; August 12 results; DIV’s second-quarter financial statements.
Resource transactions: amended offers, escrow and share consideration
For these transactions, a launch amount alone can miss later terms. The relevant questions are what was committed, what was issued, whether proceeds remained in escrow and whether the amount represents financing or acquisition consideration.
Tintina: C$91 million proposed in June, followed by escrow milestones
Toronto-based Tintina announced a proposed C$91 million subscription-receipt financing on June 2 in connection with its Chilean copper-gold project transaction.
Subsequent releases establish the next steps: the receipts were issued on July 9 with proceeds held in escrow, and the company announced escrow release and transaction completion on August 25. Neither later milestone is June cash available to the business. The August 25 release confirmed completion without supplying a separate completion date. Tintina’s June financing proposal; July receipt issuance confirmation; August transaction and escrow update.
Arras: June terms increased before the July close
Arras Minerals increased its financing on June 16 to C$21,738,920, superseding the previous day’s C$15,000,800 announcement. The president’s list was included in the revised financing amount.
The Canadian issuer, whose projects are in Kazakhstan, subsequently confirmed an approximately C$25 million close on July 7, including the full option. June’s latest announced terms and July’s proceeds describe different milestones of the same financing. Arras’s June 16 upsize; July 7 closing announcement.
1911 Gold: the initial offer was superseded the following day
1911 Gold increased its June 16 $20 million bought deal to $31 million on June 17. Its July 29 release subsequently confirmed a $35.65 million close, including the option. The releases do not explicitly name the dollar currency.
For the Canadian issuer and its Manitoba gold project, the relevant June financing terms are the amended terms. The original $20 million announcement should not stand in for the later June commitment, and the July close should not be treated as June proceeds. 1911 Gold’s June upsize; July 29 closing release.
Kodiak: an approximately C$15 million close with different share types
Kodiak announced an approximately C$15 million financing close on June 25, including charity flow-through and hard-dollar shares and the full agents’ option. The Canadian issuer’s project is in British Columbia.
The approximate figure is deliberate: the disclosed share counts and prices do not produce an exact C$15 million total. For an issuer reviewing a similar financing, the share types and their terms belong beside the headline proceeds. Kodiak’s financing closing release.
Buffalo Potash: a final tranche completes one C$14.85 million package
Buffalo’s June 29 final tranche completed approximately C$14.85 million of financing for the Saskatchewan potash issuer. That amount includes the June 24 first tranche and the C$837,000 final tranche.
The financing used hard-dollar, flow-through and charity flow-through shares. The total and final tranche are not separate financings to be added together. Buffalo’s second and final tranche release.
Atlas Salt: a June close following a May launch
Atlas Salt closed C$15,153,600 on June 11 through 12,628,000 shares at C$1.20, with part of the option exercised.
For the Newfoundland and Labrador issuer and project, this was the closing step in a financing launched on May 31 and increased on June 1. Keeping the package together preserves both its origin and the June completion. Atlas Salt’s June 11 closing release.
XAU and QS Holdings: C$70 million of deemed share consideration
XAU signed a definitive agreement on June 10 to acquire QS Holdings at a deemed C$70 million share consideration, replacing an earlier March letter of intent. Financing and approvals remained conditions.
This is an acquisition by a Canadian issuer involving a foreign target and a Guyana project. The deemed share value is not cash raised by XAU, cash paid to the seller or the target’s enterprise value. XAU’s definitive acquisition agreement.
Cosa Resources: a C$12.015 million close with approval still pending
Cosa announced a C$12,014,950 financing close on June 24 across four security tranches for its Saskatchewan uranium business. Final exchange approval remained pending.
The closing disclosure is supported, but the first-announcement date was not established in the reviewed evidence. It is included as a disclosed financing event without implying that the entire process began in June. Cosa’s June 24 financing release.
Other June disclosures and wider context
Some announcements disclose an earlier close, leave part of the price unvalued or sit outside this report’s C$10 million–C$500 million focus. They remain useful context when their limitations travel with them.
WonderFi: completion of a transaction announced in 2025
Robinhood completed its acquisition of Toronto-based WonderFi on June 1, following the original announcement on May 13, 2025. Consideration was C$0.36 cash per share, approximately C$250 million on a fully diluted equity basis.
The June event is completion of that earlier agreement. Keeping the equity-value basis and original announcement date visible makes the transaction more useful as a comparison. Robinhood’s WonderFi completion release.
Beacon: a June announcement of a January financing
Beacon announced a $225 million Series C on June 9, but the issuer release does not specify the currency. CVCA records the Toronto/San Francisco company’s round as closed in January and announced in June.
The disclosure belongs in a June reading list; the proceeds should not be presented as newly closed June financing. No Canadian-dollar conversion is applied. Beacon’s Series C announcement; CVCA’s first-half report and timing confirmation.
KOHO: capital and a valuation with an unresolved basis
KOHO’s June 10 blog, updated June 11, announced $130 million of capital at a $1.33 billion valuation in connection with its banking ambitions. The company source does not establish the dollar currency or whether the valuation is pre-money or post-money.
The Canadian fintech’s announcement is included as context. The valuation is not used to calculate a multiple, infer dilution or place the financing within a Canadian-dollar ranking. KOHO’s company announcement.
Quarterhill: US$70 million cash plus a post-close share interest
Quarterhill agreed on June 30 to acquire Conduent’s tolling business for US$70 million cash plus shares representing 7% of post-close Quarterhill.
The Canadian buyer’s cash component can be identified, but the total consideration cannot be fixed from that release alone. An owner comparing a cash-and-share offer would need the share component’s valuation terms before comparing the full price. Quarterhill’s Conduent tolling agreement.
Onyx: a June completion without a disclosed purchase price
APi’s June 9 release states that the acquisition of Canadian fire-protection business Onyx closed on June 8, following the April agreement.
The closing release does not state a purchase price. Revenue or changes to buyer guidance are not substituted for consideration, and no size classification is assigned here. APi’s Onyx closing release.
Larger transactions: useful context beyond the C$500 million ceiling
The following disclosures exceed the report’s upper size guide, either in their stated Canadian-dollar amount or using the June monthly exchange rate for a scope comparison. Their amount types remain different.
Kneat / Thoma Bravo — C$650 million equity agreement. The TSX-listed issuer announced the agreement on June 8 at approximately C$650 million on a fully diluted equity basis. Kneat’s agreement release.
TMX / RAFI Indices — US$490 million acquisition agreement. TMX announced the agreement on June 11. The price is approximately C$688 million using the June monthly exchange rate. TMX’s agreement release.
Baffinland — US$400 million of revolving DIP capacity. Court approval came June 11 and was disclosed June 12. The facility was potentially expandable to US$475 million. This is capacity, not disclosed cash drawn; the base limit is C$561.6 million at the June monthly rate. The Canadian connection is the Mary River mine in Nunavut. Baffinland’s financing release.
REPAY / KUBRA — US$372 million acquisition completed. REPAY completed the purchase of the Mississauga business on June 1, following a March agreement. The amount is approximately C$522.3 million at the June monthly rate. KUBRA’s closing announcement; transaction counsel’s currency confirmation.
MDA / Blue Canyon — US$620 million agreement. MDA signed on June 18 and announced the agreement June 19. The amount is described as purchase price and enterprise value, subject to adjustments, and is approximately C$870.5 million at the June monthly rate. This is a Canadian buyer acquiring a US target. MDA’s agreement release.
The conversion convention is US$1 = C$1.4040, the Bank of Canada’s June 2026 monthly average. These Canadian-dollar figures illustrate scope; they are not amounts reported as paid, and they are not added to a transaction total. Bank of Canada monthly exchange rates.
Questions to take into your own transaction
The useful comparison is the one that carries the terms with the number. Before using any of these disclosures in a financing or sale discussion, work through five questions:
What exactly is being priced? A particular stake, all the equity, enterprise value, a credit limit or new securities? Aecon’s preferred interest and Financeit’s notes illustrate why that definition comes first.
When does the money become available? Separate signing, issuance, escrow release and closing. Tintina, Arras and the later PROREIT confirmations show how those dates can differ.
What does the seller receive, and when? Ask for a proceeds bridge that separates cash, debt repayment, working-capital adjustments, escrow, rollover, vendor financing, earnouts and tax. WELL and Calian provide reasons to read beyond maximum consideration.
Which financing belongs to which purchase? Keep the acquisition and its funding connected in the analysis, as with DIV and PROREIT. Avoid treating the financing as another layer of purchase price.
What would make the comparison valid for your business? Match the price basis to the ownership rights and a supported financial measure. Then test the relevance of customer concentration, margins, capital needs, regulation and management depth to the buyer or investor you are discussing.
No transaction multiple is presented here: the disclosures do not provide a consistently supported and normalized numerator and denominator for that purpose.
How to read this report. This is a selected review of Canadian-connected transactions, with a C$10 million–C$500 million focus and separately labelled context. It includes Canadian issuers, buyers, targets and assets; a Canadian connection does not mean every financed asset is in Canada. Sources were reviewed through September 4, 2026. Later confirmations are labelled where used.
Amounts retain their original disclosed currencies. Where a source does not specify the dollar currency, that limitation appears beside the amount. A disclosure date is not automatically a cash-closing date. The different instruments, ownership bases and event periods are not combined into a market total or ranked. This report does not establish total Canadian deal activity.
For earlier coverage, read the April Canadian financings and transactions report. For preparation around a sale or financing, visit the Deal Flow Canada guides.
If a transaction term or date needs correction, add the primary source in the comments. Subscribe to receive future Deal Flow Canada reports.


