A financing headline tells you how much is involved. The terms tell you who gets the money, when it becomes available and what still has to happen. July’s Canadian-connected deals put those questions in plain view: Cadillac split its IPO between company capital and selling shareholders; WELL addressed a coming debt maturity; and Talamore paired closed equity with conditional project funding.
Three takeaways for owners:
Follow the recipient. Cadillac’s base IPO included both treasury and secondary proceeds. The full headline was not capital for the business.
Separate cash from capacity. Talamore’s equity close, Terra’s announced credit and WELLSTAR’s escrowed receipts carried different conditions on access to money.
Keep the dates straight. Phoenix’s IPO began in June; PROREIT’s July disclosures covered both June and July property closings. An announcement date alone does not establish when a deal was signed or funded.
This report reviews selected Canadian-connected financing and M&A activity associated with July 1–31, 2026, with a working focus on C$10 million–C$500 million and separate context around that range. It is not a market census or a ranking. Amounts retain their original currencies and their meaning—proceeds, purchase price, debt principal or credit capacity. Later confirmations available by September 4 are identified beside the affected facts.
What’s included? New financing structures • Resource and acquisition funding • Earlier transactions with July steps • Acquisitions and incomplete price information • Wider context and boundaries • Questions to bring to your next deal
New financing structures: who receives the money?
Cadillac Mines: a priced IPO with two recipients
Toronto-based Cadillac Mines, whose projects are in Ontario and Quebec, filed its preliminary prospectus on July 13 and priced an upsized IPO on July 23. The approximately C$385 million base offering comprised 47,075,000 common shares at C$6.90 and 6,303,000 special flow-through shares at C$9.52. Its two uses were explicit: C$190,035,060 of treasury proceeds and C$194,787,000 for selling shareholders. Those amounts were components of the base offering, not additions to it. Preliminary prospectus announcement; IPO pricing and proceeds split.
The base size excluded an option for up to 8,006,700 additional common shares, expected to be secondary shares. Agnico Eagle separately disclosed a July 23 agreement to invest C$60,002,400, conditional on the IPO closing. Subsequent confirmation: Cadillac’s August 5 release reported the IPO close and full option exercise, with treasury proceeds unchanged and secondary proceeds of C$250,033,230; the Agnico investment closed concurrently. Those were August completions. Agnico subscription agreement; August closing confirmation.
For an owner considering an IPO or a partial exit, the useful first question is how much goes to the company and how much goes to existing holders. Cadillac’s headline alone did not answer that question.
WELL Health: privately placed notes ahead of a maturity
Vancouver-based WELL priced C$150 million of senior unsecured notes on July 13 and closed the private placement on July 15. Issued at par, the notes carry a 6.875% coupon and mature July 15, 2031. WELL said net proceeds were intended to repay convertible debt maturing in December 2026 and support general corporate purposes. That is a stated use of proceeds, not confirmation that the old debt had already been redeemed. Note pricing and intended use; Private placement closing.
The owner takeaway is about planning around a maturity. These terms are an example of one borrower’s financing, not a rate or structure other businesses should assume they can obtain.
Terra Mobility: announced credit for software and expansion
Montreal-based Busbud, doing business as Terra Mobility, announced US$40 million of credit from Vista Credit Partners on July 29. Terra identified its TerraOS platform, marketplace expansion and selective acquisitions as intended uses. The announcement did not establish how much had been drawn or the timing of draws. Terra credit announcement.
For scale only, US$40 million converts to approximately C$56.43 million at the Bank of Canada’s July monthly average of C$1.4107 per US dollar. This is an indicative conversion of announced credit size, not cash received or the transaction’s actual exchange rate. Bank of Canada monthly exchange rates.
WELLSTAR: subscription receipts and a proposed listing
WELL’s July 7 announcement linked a proposed WELLSTAR amalgamation and TSXV listing to a subscription-receipt financing. Subsequent confirmation in WELL’s August 6 results established that the C$50 million financing closed July 30, split between C$36.2 million of treasury proceeds and C$13.8 million of secondary proceeds. The receipts remained tied to conditions for escrow release and the underlying transaction. Closing the financing did not itself establish completion of the amalgamation or listing, or make the entire C$50 million available to the operating business. Proposed listing and financing; Subsequent confirmation of the July receipt close.
Argo: a strategic placement with a later-confirmed closing date
Toronto transit-technology company Argo announced a C$10 million strategic non-brokered placement on July 27, led by a Canadian pension fund. Its August 31 financial results subsequently confirmed the Canadian-dollar amount and July 24 closing date. July 27 was the public announcement date, not the funding date. Strategic financing announcement; August results confirming the July close.
Resource and acquisition funding: read each commitment separately
Talamore: closed equity alongside conditional project debt
Talamore closed a C$149.5 million brokered private placement on July 21 for its Coffee project in Yukon. The offering comprised 18,687,500 shares at C$8.00, including full exercise of the agents’ option. Final exchange approval remained outstanding in the July 21 closing release. Equity placement closing and approval qualification.
The July 5 construction-financing announcement also described C$400 million of secured project-debt commitments, subject to definitive documentation, draw conditions and approvals, and up to approximately C$88 million of potential warrant proceeds. These were different sources with different conditions. The initial package headline combined proposed equity, conditional debt and possible warrant exercises; it was not a cash-raised total. The later equity close does not make the other components funded. Coffee construction-financing package.
Lycos: an asset price, a financing plan and forecast-based metrics
Calgary-based Lycos agreed on July 20 to acquire Sparky waterflood assets in Alberta’s Greater Provost area for C$70 million in cash before adjustments. The agreement used a June 1 effective date and, when announced, was expected to close August 6. An effective date is not a closing date. Acquisition terms, financing and operating forecasts.
The linked financing plan comprised a proposed C$30 million equity financing, expected to close concurrently, and a commitment to amend its credit facility to C$55 million, also expected to close with the acquisition, with a C$20 million uncommitted accordion. The accordion could expand capacity to C$75 million if obtained; it was not committed cash. These sources supported the transaction and did not increase the C$70 million asset price.
Lycos reported approximately C$47,000 per flowing boe/d using its forecast 2027 production of 1,500 boe/d. That denominator matters: the disclosed current and 2026 exit production was 1,000 boe/d. Its 2.8 times forecast 2027 net operating income metric used C$25 million of forecast NOI at US$70 WTI. NOI is an issuer-defined, non-IFRS measure of petroleum and natural-gas revenue less royalties, operating and transportation costs, excluding specified derivatives. These were forecast-based transaction metrics, not realized results or an independent valuation.
For an owner evaluating an acquisition, this is a useful checklist: separate the price from its funding, committed facilities from possible extensions, and current operating results from the forecasts used to support a multiple.
AbraSilver: a public offering and a separate strategic placement
Toronto-based AbraSilver closed a C$49,994,700 bought-deal public offering on July 29: 3,401,000 shares at C$14.70, including the full option. It is a Canadian issuer with the Diablillos project in Argentina. A separate C$2,046,843 placement to Kinross closed July 31. That related investment was additional to, and not included in, the public-offering figure. Public offering closing; Kinross placement closing.
Miata: proposed equity with ownership and governance terms
Vancouver-based Miata, with projects in Suriname, announced an equity package on July 28 and upsized it later in July. The revised share terms—24,391,000 bought-deal shares and 32,390,229 shares for La Mancha, each at C$0.41—imply a combined proposed amount of approximately C$23.28 million. The upsize page and release body carry inconsistent July dates, so no exact upsize day is assigned here. The two financings were cross-conditional and expected to close August 18; they were not July completions. Initial financing and strategic investment terms; Revised share terms.
La Mancha was expected to hold approximately 19.9% on a non-diluted basis after closing. The disclosed arrangements included board-nomination and participation rights subject to ownership thresholds, a two-year standstill restricting ownership above 25%, and an 18-month lockup. Those terms belong beside the proposed investment amount because they affect ownership and future flexibility.
BluEnergies: oil-and-gas equity, with warrants kept separate
BluEnergies closed a C$20,704,560.75 non-brokered unit placement on July 23, issuing 9,202,027 units at C$2.25. This is an oil-and-gas issuer with interests in Liberia and Louisiana, rather than a mining financing. Future proceeds from exercising warrants included in the units are not part of the placement’s gross proceeds. Unit placement closing.
Gold Terra: an announced ceiling and a smaller July tranche
Gold Terra’s July 7 upsize proposed up to C$10.8 million through a non-brokered LIFE offering without warrants, supporting its Yellowknife project in the Northwest Territories. The July 24 first tranche raised C$8,750,200.14, below this report’s C$10 million working floor. Subsequent August 6 and August 20 tranches brought the final amount to C$10,081,666.80, as reconciled in the August 20 release. The announced ceiling was never the amount raised in July. This remains useful context for reading a multi-tranche financing. Proposed upsize; First-tranche disclosure; Final tranche and reconciliation.
Earlier transactions with July steps
A transaction can advance materially in July without originating in July. The following examples keep the earlier agreement or financing launch attached to the later step.
Phoenix: a June-origin IPO closed in July, followed by an option update
Phoenix’s IPO began with a June 22 preliminary disclosure and closed July 9 for C$42.5 million, comprising 34 million shares at C$1.25. The company’s Greenwood project is in British Columbia. On July 24 it reported partial exercise of the option for 3,122,100 shares, representing C$3,902,625, and stated aggregate gross proceeds of C$46,402,625. The option release used future-receipt language, so it does not establish a separate cash-settlement date. The option was no longer wholly unexercised, but the financing remained part of the June-origin IPO. Preliminary IPO disclosure; July IPO closing; Partial option exercise.
PROREIT: June closings disclosed in July, then a separate July purchase
PROREIT’s July 2 announcement described the completed purchase of 17 industrial properties for C$136.8 million under its June acquisition program. Its August 12 results subsequently established the actual closing dates: four Manitoba properties for C$24 million on June 26, and 13 Quebec properties for C$112.8 million on June 30. These were June closings disclosed in July. 17-property completion announcement; Results confirming the closing dates.
A distinct purchase of four Winnipeg properties for C$21.7 million closed July 15, was announced July 16 and was subsequently confirmed in the August results. These were separate properties under the same earlier acquisition program. Their purchase price should not be confused with, or added to, the program’s similarly sized equity-financing component. Additional four-property acquisition.
SSC Security Services: the May-announced transaction completed
The SSC Security Services transaction with Allied Universal, including a concurrent management buyout, completed July 31. The original May announcement valued the transaction at approximately C$80.5 million on a fully diluted basis. That was aggregate consideration including the management transaction, not enterprise value with a second buyout amount to add. SSC was based in Regina. Original transaction valuation; Arrangement and management buyout completion.
Centauri: receipts closed, with spinout conditions still attached
Centauri’s July 6 financing terms were linked to Aldebaran’s June 1 spinout agreement. A July 23 announcement disclosed completion of C$25.486 million of subscription receipts, comprising C$17.486 million brokered and C$8 million non-brokered proceeds. Net proceeds were escrowed pending spinout and listing conditions. The financing disclosure did not make those proceeds unrestricted operating cash. Original spinout agreement; July financing proposal; Receipt completion and escrow conditions.
Arras Minerals: a June financing reached its July close
Arras closed approximately C$25 million of bought-deal common shares on July 7, including full exercise of the option. The financing’s amended terms had been announced June 16. The Canadian issuer’s projects are in Kazakhstan, so issuer and project geography should remain distinct. June financing terms; July closing.
Monteoro: an RTO-linked financing with escrow conditions
The July 8 release from 1287405 B.C. and Monteoro disclosed a June 24 RTO agreement and completion of C$10,007,100 in subscription receipts, following a transaction first announced March 31. Net proceeds remained subject to escrow-release conditions. The release did not establish the exact financing closing day; July 8 is the disclosure date. RTO agreement and receipt-financing disclosure.
1911 Gold: completion disclosed, currency still unconfirmed
1911 Gold disclosed July 29 that its June-origin bought deal had completed, including full exercise of the option. The reviewed announcement reported $35.65 million without an independently confirmed currency for the gross proceeds. That amount remains unconverted and outside any numerical comparison. The Canadian connection is the Vancouver issuer and its True North operation in Manitoba. Bought-deal completion disclosure; June financing origin.
Firm Capital: completion of a partial property interest
Firm Capital Property Trust disclosed July 21 that it had completed the acquisition of a 50% interest in ten manufactured-home communities in Alberta and Saskatchewan, following its April announcement and correction. The disclosure did not establish the actual closing day. The original portfolio-price figure was on a 100% basis and its currency was not explicitly verified in the reviewed releases; no Trust cash purchase price is presented here. Original announcement and correction; Completion disclosure.
Acquisitions and incomplete price information
Missing price information limits comparison; it does not make a transaction worth zero. An unspecified dollar currency also prevents a reliable conversion. These announcements still identify ownership changes or financing developments relevant to Canadian businesses.
Terminal: a Series A without a confirmed dollar currency
Toronto-based Terminal announced on July 29 that it had closed a $20 million Series A. The issuer-distributed release did not identify the currency or establish the exact cash-closing date. The amount is therefore left as reported, with currency unconfirmed; no US-dollar assumption or Canadian-dollar equivalent is supplied. Series A announcement.
Assent: completed acquisition of Germany’s IPOINT
Ottawa-based Assent announced July 9 that it had completed its first acquisition, Germany-based IPOINT. The announcement did not disclose price. IPOINT acquisition announcement.
Vena: an agreement to acquire Morpheo AI
Toronto-based Vena announced a definitive agreement to acquire Morpheo AI on July 28, subject to closing conditions. The announcement did not disclose price. An agreement remains distinct from a completed acquisition. Morpheo AI acquisition agreement.
SPUD: acquisition completion announced by GrubMarket
GrubMarket’s July 21 post announced its completed acquisition of Sustainable Produce Urban Delivery, or SPUD, with operations in British Columbia and Alberta. The post did not identify price or the actual closing day. SPUD acquisition announcement.
TerraVest: pressure-vessel acquisition funded through existing credit
TerraVest announced July 2 that it had acquired Calgary-based Superior Pressure Vessels, using existing credit facilities. The release did not disclose price or the actual closing day. Superior Pressure Vessels acquisition.
Canfor: July completion disclosure for June’s Pinkwood agreement
Canfor announced July 3 that it had completed the Pinkwood acquisition announced June 9. The July closing release omitted the price and actual closing day. Pinkwood completion announcement.
Englobe and Pluritec: later financial statements added a cash figure
Following the May 28 announcement, Englobe reported completion of its Pluritec partnership on July 6. Colliers’s August 5 financial statements subsequently identified July 5 as the closing date and US$34 million of initial cash consideration. Initial cash consideration is not a complete transaction valuation. Original partnership announcement; July completion disclosure; Subsequent financial-statement confirmation.
Wider context: project funding, larger transactions and the calendar
The following items add context without joining a ranked mid-market set. Some exceed the working size range; others involve project funding, equity-value measures or announcements from another month.
Namibia Critical Metals: project funding within an earn-in
Halifax-based Namibia Critical Metals announced up to approximately C$11 million of additional definitive-feasibility-study funding on July 20. On July 30 it reported completion of the cumulative C$23 million Japan earn-in through funding that budget. These are linked project/JV funding disclosures for a foreign project, not C$11 million plus C$23 million of new corporate equity. Additional project-funding announcement; Earn-in funding completion.
EQB / Loblaw PC Financial: Loblaw’s July 30 results reported completion of the sale on July 1 for C$1.234 billion of total consideration: C$963 million in shares, C$235 million in cash and a C$36 million tax receivable. This earlier-origin transaction was above the working range and was not an all-cash purchase. Loblaw results and consideration breakdown.
Kraken / Covelya: Kraken announced July 2 completion of the previously announced acquisition for approximately C$615 million, subject to adjustments. Covelya acquisition completion.
MDA / CLS: MDA made a firm irrevocable offer on July 8 for approximately 70% of CLS, for approximately €567 million in cash before adjustments, quoted by MDA as C$920 million. It was an offer, not a completed acquisition. The linked share offering was initially US$712 million, upsized July 9 to approximately US$819 million, and closed July 14. Acquisition consideration and financing proceeds remain separate. Initial offering; Offer and subsequent financing update.
Greenfire / Connacher: The July 13 agreement set C$1.29 billion of consideration before adjustments. The initial release’s C$1.277 billion estimate after expected adjustments was anticipated cash consideration, not a verified final payment. Original agreement and expected adjustments; Transaction update.
Brookfield / CPP Investments / LXP: The proposed transaction was valued at approximately US$5.2 billion including net debt and preferred equity. It had not closed in July. LXP transaction terms; DLA Piper transaction announcement.
NOVAGOLD: an all-share transaction, not a comparable cash price
NOVAGOLD announced July 22 agreements to acquire Paulson’s 40% Donlin interest, increasing ownership from 60% to 100% through an all-share transaction. A combined-company equity value would not measure cash paid for the acquired 40%, so this item does not supply a comparable cash acquisition amount. Donlin ownership transaction.
One further calendar boundary: Dominion Dynamics’ C$139 million Series A was announced June 30. Coverage on July 1 does not turn it into a new July announcement. June 30 financing announcement.
Questions to bring to your next deal
These examples suggest a few practical questions for owners and their advisors:
Who receives the proceeds? Separate company capital from selling-shareholder liquidity before discussing the headline financing size.
What can the business actually use, and when? Distinguish closed equity, escrowed receipts, committed facilities, draw conditions and uncommitted extensions.
What is the valuation based on? Identify cash consideration, debt or preferred equity included in a quoted value, and any forecast production or earnings denominator.
What survives after the cheque arrives? Review share and warrant terms, ownership thresholds, board rights, standstills and lockups alongside the financing amount.
Which dates and jurisdictions matter? Keep signing, disclosure, funding, closing and effective dates separate. State issuer headquarters, operating assets and target locations individually.
This is a selected review of primary-source announcements and filings, not a complete sweep of private M&A, private credit, court records, SEDAR+ or French-language sources. Several reviewed acquisition announcements did not state price; some reported dollar amounts without a confirmed currency. Unknown values remain unknown. Conditional commitments, shareholder proceeds, purchase prices and cash raised are not combined into a dollar total.
For another monthly review, read the April Canadian financings and transactions report. For practical explainers, visit the Deal Flow Canada Guides.
Have a correction or a transaction that belongs in this discussion? Leave a comment with a primary source so the terms and timing can be checked. Subscribe to follow future Deal Flow Canada reports.


